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ISSUE
  
Whether a merchant seaman, who is a Louisiana resident, is required to make estimated 
payments for state income taxes to Louisiana despite the fact that no amounts for such 
taxes are withheld from his wages? 
 
DISCUSSION
  
Under 46 U.S.C. § 11108, "[w]ages accruing to a master or seaman on a vessel in the 
foreign, coastwise, intercoastal, interstate, intrastate, or noncontiguous trade or an 
individual employed on a fishing vessel or any fish processing vessel may not be 
withheld under the tax laws of a State or any political subdivision of a State.”  This 
provision is intended to prevent multiple withholding from wages of seamen who might 
be in ports of different states when they receive pay.  Streckfus Steamers, Inc. v. Saint 
Louis, 472 S.W.2d 660 (Mo. App.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 841 (1971). 
  
46 U.S.C. § 11108 does not, however, prevent a state from lawfully imposing income 
taxes on its residents.  Generally, Louisiana imposes an income tax on all income of a 
Louisiana resident.  According to Revised Statute 47:290, a Louisiana resident’s income 
whether or not subject to withholding is subject to Louisiana income taxation, unless 
there is a provision exempting it.  If there is no such provision, the income is subject to 
tax. 
 
Revised Statute 47:116 provides that “[e]very individual whose Louisiana income tax 
liability can reasonably be expected to exceed two hundred dollars for declarations of 
estimated tax for income tax years starting prior to January 1, 2001, and one thousand 
dollars for declarations of estimated tax for income tax years starting on and after January 
1, 2001, after deducting all allowable credits shall be liable for filing of a declaration of 
estimated tax.” 
 
The estimated tax is the amount of the income tax that the individual estimates as the 
amount owed for the taxable year, minus the amount that the individual estimates as the 
sum of any credits allowable against tax.  R.S. 47:116 C  
 



If an individual underpays the estimated tax, an additional 12 percent per annum is added 
to the tax amount due for a taxable year.  R.S. 47:118 
 
CONCLUSION
  
Since the merchant seaman is a resident of Louisiana, all of his wages are subject to 
Louisiana income tax, despite the fact that a merchant seaman’s wages are not subject to 
withholding.  Because the wages are not subject to withholding, estimated tax payments 
must be paid in accordance with Revised Statute 47:116, if the Louisiana tax liability can 
reasonably be expected to exceed $ 1000. 
 
Note: If a merchant seaman earned income within another state jurisdiction and paid that 
jurisdiction an income tax on it, he may receive a credit for the tax against his Louisiana 
income tax, subject to certain restrictions and limitations.  R.S. 47:33 
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A Revenue Ruling is issued under the authority of LAC 61III.101 (C).  A Revenue Ruling is written to 
provide guidance to the public and to Department of Revenue employees.  It is a written statement issued to 
apply principles of law to a specific set of facts. A Revenue Ruling does not have the force and effect of 
law and is not binding on the public. It is a statement of the department's position and is binding on the 
department until superseded or modified by a subsequent change in statute, regulation, declaratory ruling, 
or court decision. 
 


